DSC_5513.jpg

I grew up in Rawalpindi, Pakistan, and now live in Newark, USA. My debut novel, AMERICAN FEVER, is forthcoming from Sceptre and Arcade in August 2022 (pre-order here).

 

My work has appeared in the New York TimesFinancial Times, and Al Jazeera, among others. I won the 2021 Salam Award and the 2019 Financial Times / Bodley Head Essay Prize. In 2022, I was one of the individuals selected for Forbes 30 Under 30. I graduated from Yale College and the Helen Zell Writers' Program at the University of Michigan.

Agent: Matthew Turner at Rogers, Coleridge & White

US Publicity: Lilly Golden at Skyhorse Publishing

UK Publicity: Louise Court at Sceptre

Film Rights: Shivani Doraiswami at Grandview LA

DUR E AZIZ AMNA

 

American Fever

American Fever Book Cover
American Fever UK cover high-res.jpeg

Forthcoming August 2022. 










"A funny and affecting novel...a wonderful new spin on the coming-of-age story. A smart, charming debut." (Kirkus Review, starred)

"A fascinating mix of immigrant tale, coming-of-age narrative, and cultural exposition...tackling some of the big migration questions of home and identity." (Booklist)

"Brave, tender-hearted, and painfully bittersweet, American Fever...announces Dur e Aziz Amna as a brilliant new voice." (Fatima Farheen Mirza)

“This is a fearless, exacting, essential work." (Peter Ho Davies)

“Rarely does a book sharpen how you see the world around you, but American Fever does just that. It dazzled me on every page.” (Julie Buntin)

"A brilliant exploration of the sacred, scary moment when a girl comes into the wider world.” (Benjamin Moser)

“Hira’s...biting intelligence, her irreverence, and her wit blazes through this riveting, brilliant novel. A searing debut.” (Aamina Ahmad)

"An extraordinarily assured and gripping debut." (Ayşegül Savaş)


For fans of Valeria Luiselli and Mohsin Hamid comes a fresh new perspective on coming-of-age as a Pakistani Muslim in rural America. 

On a year-long exchange program in rural Oregon, sixteen-year-old Hira must swap Kashmiri chai for volleyball practice and understand why everyone around her seems to dislike Obama.  A skeptically witty narrator, Hira finds herself stuck between worlds. The experience is memorable for reasons both good and bad; a first kiss, new friends, racism, Islamophobia, homesickness. Along the way Hira starts to feel increasingly unwell until she begins coughing up blood, and receives a diagnosis of tuberculosis, pushing her into quarantine and turning her newly established home away from home upside down. 

 
 

Other Work

Fiction

"You Get What is Yours," October 2021

  • Winner of the 2021 Salam Award 

"Cafe May," Catapult, August 2021

"A Cold Heart," Himal Southasian, January 2020

  • Shortlisted for the 2019 Himal Southasian Short Story Competition

"Asma,London Magazine, April 2018

  • 2017 London Magazine Short Story Competition, 2nd Place

Personal Essay

"Reflections in Ramzan," Aleph Review, April 2022

"The Many Homes of My Mother," Al Jazeera, September 2021

"Writing Into and Out of My Long-Distance Grief," New York Times, December 2020

"Your Tongue is Still Yours," Financial Times, November 2019

  • 2019 Financial Times / Bodley Head Essay Prize Winner (e-book link)

"House on Mayo Road,Longreads, November 2018

"American Smile," The Offing, June 2018

Food & Culture

Travel

Sri Lanka: "Teardrop in the Indian Ocean," The News, March 2019

Myanmar: "At Home in Burma," The News, March 2019

Vietnam: "Vietnam's Heart," The News, March 2019

Cambodia: "In the Land of Angkor Kings," The News, February 2019

Indonesia: "Javanese Days," The News, February 2019

Colombia: "Amethyst Afternoons in Cartagena," The News, April 2018

Portugal: "The Island No One Told You About," The News, April 2018

Book Reviews

"An Ode to Innocence," The News, June 2018

"Speaking Truth to Empire," The News, April 2018

Translation

"Yours and Mine," Annual of Urdu Studies Volume 28, 2013

Literary Criticism

"Requiem: Agha Shahid Ali’s Last Canzone," Mad Heart Be Brave, University of Michigan Press, 2017

"Postcolonial London," Columbia Journal of Literary Criticism Volume XIII, Spring 2015

Other Honors

  • Forbes 30 Under 30, 2022

  • Chamberlain Prize, University of Michigan, 2021

  • Longlisted, Sunday Times Audible Short Story Award, 2020

  • Busch Prize in Fiction, University of Michigan, 2020

  • Hopwood Prize in Novel, University of Michigan, 2020

  • Hopwood Prize in Nonfiction, University of Michigan, 2020

  • Wagner Prize in Nonfiction, University of Michigan, 2020

  • Longlisted, Commonwealth Short Story Prize, 2019

  • Emerging Writers Fellowship, Aspen Words, 2018

  • NYC Department of Cultural Affairs Scholarship, Catapult Writing Workshop, 2018

Sign up for (infrequent) updates on my writing.

Thanks for your interest!