Dur e Aziz Amna

DSC_5513.jpg

Now available for pre-order at:
Bookshop
Barnes & Noble
Amazon
Books a Million
IndieBound

For fans of Valeria Luiselli and Mohsin Hamid comes a fresh new perspective on coming-of-age as a Pakistani Muslim in rural America.
 
“This is a fearless, exacting, essential work, and marks the debut of a thrilling new global voice.”—Peter Ho Davies, author of The Welsh Girl
 
On a year-long exchange program in rural Oregon, sixteen-year-old Hira must swap Kashmiri chai for volleyball practice and understand why everyone around her seems to dislike Obama.  A skeptically witty narrator, Hira finds herself stuck between worlds. The experience is memorable for reasons both good and bad; a first kiss, new friends, racism, Islamophobia, homesickness. Along the way Hira starts to feel increasingly unwell until she begins coughing up blood, and receives a diagnosis of tuberculosis, pushing her into quarantine and turning her newly established home away from home upside down. 

 

AMERICAN FEVER

(Forthcoming August 2022)

American Fever Book Cover

About Me

I grew up in Rawalpindi, Pakistan, and now live in Michigan, USA. My debut novel, AMERICAN FEVER, is forthcoming from Sceptre in the UK and Arcade in the US (August 2022).

 

My work has also appeared in the New York TimesFinancial Times, and Al Jazeera, among others. I won the 2021 Salam Award and the 2019 Financial Times / Bodley Head Essay Prize. I graduated from Yale College and the Helen Zell Writers' Program at the University of Michigan.

Agent: Matthew Turner at Rogers, Coleridge & White

US Publicity: Kathleen Schmidt at Skyhorse Publishing

UK Publicity: Louise Court at Sceptre

Film Rights: Shivani Doraiswami at Grandview LA

 

Other Work

Fiction

"You Get What is Yours," October 2021

  • Winner of the 2021 Salam Award 

"Cafe May," Catapult, August 2021

"A Cold Heart," Himal Southasian, January 2020

  • Shortlisted for the 2019 Himal Southasian Short Story Competition

"Asma,London Magazine, April 2018

  • 2017 London Magazine Short Story Competition, 2nd Place

Personal Essay

"The Many Homes of My Mother," Al Jazeera, September 2021

"Writing Into and Out of My Long-Distance Grief," New York Times, December 2020

"Your Tongue is Still Yours," Financial Times, November 2019

  • 2019 Financial Times / Bodley Head Essay Prize Winner (e-book link)

"House on Mayo Road,Longreads, November 2018

"American Smile," The Offing, June 2018

"The Many Homes of My Mother," Al Jazeera, September 2021

"Writing Into and Out of My Long-Distance Grief," New York Times, December 2020

"Your Tongue is Still Yours," Financial Times, November 2019

  • 2019 Financial Times / Bodley Head Essay Prize Winner (e-book link)

"House on Mayo Road,Longreads, November 2018

"American Smile," The Offing, June 2018

Food & Culture

Food & Culture

Travel

Sri Lanka: "Teardrop in the Indian Ocean," The News, March 2019

Myanmar: "At Home in Burma," The News, March 2019

Vietnam: "Vietnam's Heart," The News, March 2019

Cambodia: "In the Land of Angkor Kings," The News, February 2019

Indonesia: "Javanese Days," The News, February 2019

Colombia: "Amethyst Afternoons in Cartagena," The News, April 2018

Portugal: "The Island No One Told You About," The News, April 2018

Book Reviews

"An Ode to Innocence," The News, June 2018

"Speaking Truth to Empire," The News, April 2018

Translation

"Yours and Mine," Annual of Urdu Studies Volume 28, 2013

Literary Criticism

"Requiem: Agha Shahid Ali’s Last Canzone," Mad Heart Be Brave, University of Michigan Press, 2017

"Postcolonial London," Columbia Journal of Literary Criticism Volume XIII, Spring 2015

Other Honors

  • Chamberlain Prize, University of Michigan, 2021

  • Longlisted, Sunday Times Audible Short Story Award, 2020

  • Busch Prize in Fiction, University of Michigan, 2020

  • Hopwood Prize in Novel, University of Michigan, 2020

  • Hopwood Prize in Nonfiction, University of Michigan, 2020

  • Wagner Prize in Nonfiction, University of Michigan, 2020

  • Longlisted, Commonwealth Short Story Prize, 2019

  • Emerging Writers Fellowship, Aspen Words, 2018

  • NYC Department of Cultural Affairs Scholarship, Catapult Writing Workshop, 2018